Excellence In Teaching Awards

The Curtin Student Guild’s Excellence in Teaching Awards recognise teachers who have displayed excellence in classroom communication, always make an effort to engage and promote student participation while displaying passion and enthusiasm for their teaching area. A selection panel consisting of student representatives will determine the winners for each category. Winners will be presented with a framed award at a ceremony and $1,000 to spend on improving the learning experience of their students.

Award Categories
The Guild’s Excellence in Teaching Award recognises the following categories of Academic Staff at Curtin University:
  • Business Faculty Undergraduate Lecturer/Tutor Award
  • Health Science Undergraduate Lecturer/Tutor Award
  • Humanities Undergraduate Lecturer/Tutor Award
  • Science and Engineering Undergraduate Lecturer/Tutor Award
  • Centre for Aboriginal Studies Lecturer/Tutor Award
  • Postgraduate (Coursework) Lecturer/Tutor Award
  • Postgraduate Research Supervisor Award 
If you are a student and you wish to nominate a lecturer, tutor, or supervisor, please find the nomination forms below:

Nominating for the academic year 2017:

Nominations ARE NOW OPEN the academic year of 2017. CLICK HERE TO NOMINATE

The winners of the 2016 Excellence in Teaching Awards can be found here.

The full list of winners of the Excellence in Teaching Awards for the 2016 academic teaching year are:
Outstanding Excellence in Teaching Award:
Dr Isaac Cheah – Curtin Business School (School of Marketing)
Undergraduate Lecturer/Tutor Award Winners:
Undergraduate Award in Humanities - Dr Christina Lee
Undergraduate Award in Business – Dr Abhijeet Singh
Undergraduate Award in Science and Engineering – Ms Anne D'Arcy-Warmington
Undergraduate Award in Health Sciences - Dr Ajanthy Arulpragasam
Postgraduate Coursework Lecturer/Tutor Award Winner:
Postgraduate Coursework Award - Senior Lecturer Tomayess Issa
Postgraduate Research Supervisor Award Winner:
Postgraduate Research Supervisor Award - Professor Jeff Hughes
Honourable mentions are awarded to:
Honourable Mention – Dr Anne Ryden (Humanities)
Honourable Mention - Associate Lecturer Rhianna Chisholm (CBS)
Honourable Mention – Dr Aaron Hunter (Science and Engineering)
Honourable Mention - Mrs Gemma Devenish (Health Sciences)
Honourable Mention - Dr Lucinda Black (PG Coursework)
Honourable Mention – Associate Professor Moira O'Connor (PG Research)
Honourable Mention – Miss Victoria Cousins (UniPass / Science and Engineering)
The awards ceremony will be held on Friday, 21st April, 2017 with drinks and canapés to be served before the ceremony in the John Curtin Gallery Foyer from 3pm.  The ceremony will follow at 4pm in the Bankwest Lecture Theatre.
Once again we would like to congratulate all staff who were nominated and we look forward to seeing you and your guests at the ceremony.
The dress code is business casual and all RSVP’s are due by midday Thursday, 13th April, 2017.  Please send all RSVP’s with the number of guests attending to: eta@guild.curtin.edu.au